Career Goals Ahead

Career Goals Ahead

Outreachy: Career Goals

I am currently halfway through my Outreachy internship with Wikimedia Foundation and I am excited about future opportunities that may come my way.

I have previous experience with an open-source community, Public Lab, during Outreachy’s contribution stage on my first try in 2022. Where I modified JavaScript files, rectified warning errors, and created issues for other contributors to work on. I hold a diploma in Software Engineering (Frontend Development) from AltSchool Africa, where I built a portfolio consisting of various projects. I also have one year of experience as a Medical Records officer which fueled my interest in Health Informatics, leading me to pursue certification in the Google Professional Data Analytics course.

With my background and experience, I offer a fresh perspective to any team. Passionate about open source and healthcare I aim to grow in technical documentation. I am looking for job opportunities within communities that leverage documentation to impact people positively in various ways.

While on my ongoing three-month remote internship with the Wikimedia Foundation, I am improving over 7 documentation topics and producing tutorial videos for the Wikimedia Foundation Programs and Events Dashboard. The dashboard is a comprehensive tool for organizing Wikipedia classroom assignments and diverse learning activities, which currently has more than 100,000 users.

I possess a high level of proficiency in the English language and from April 2024 I am open to full-time or part-time remote paid technical documentation positions.