Project Update: Unveiling the Journey of My Progress

Project Update: Unveiling the Journey of My Progress

Outreachy: Project Progress Report

Surprisingly, my progress is in line with my initial project timeline. Although not in the details, but in the overall direction of the project. According to my initial timeline, I am in the implementation stage, which entails adding my Google Docs drafts to the existing documentation and making my documentation improvements available to all. That’s exactly where I am right now.

So far I have covered almost all the written documentation topics I highlighted at the start of the project. I have two more topics left to create and then I am done with my written documentation list. I am still in the process of implementing my drafts and will round up the list shortly. I knew the Programs & Events dashboard video tutorial topics would take more time to finalize due to the script-writing stage and that's why I started with the written documentation. The video production stage requires a lot of feedback and detail so the process runs smoothly. I recognized the time factor during the contribution phase when I crafted my first script, so I already planned to shift my focus to video production right after covering written documentation. This approach ensures my undivided attention to each aspect of the project.

I would say the stage of reviewing existing documentation and highlighting topics took longer than I expected. I had a lot of documentation and reports to read through very carefully to note what to attach importance to and where to avoid repetition. In my opinion, this was a crucial stage of the project and it gave me a good amount of clarity.

The remaining parts of my initial timeline would need a little tweaking, due to my new plan. Initially, I mentioned gaining more feedback from users, addressing more dashboard inconsistencies, and testing the updated documentation. I still plan to do all of these simultaneously and even after the internship. But my focus now in this second half of the internship, is to work extensively on the video production aspects of the documentation. I have two draft scripts already that just require finishing touches. Once that’s done the video production stage would kick off and be implemented and tested.

After the video tutorial topics are covered, I would still love to continue working on the documentation and making continuous modifications to the documentation based on user feedback even after the internship. This is a project I enjoy working on and my mentors have been great every step of the way.