What does your Pelvic Floor muscles have to do with Tech?

What does your Pelvic Floor muscles have to do with Tech?

Out of all the articles so far this one took me the longest to compose. I did a little research on startups in the Health Tech sector that cater to women and this one caught my attention.

Every Mother.

Screenshot (195).png

Every Mother has a beautiful yet simple aesthetic to their website which is very appealing. My fascination grew when I dug deeper into their mission, vision and their aim for every woman. It was different. This was my first time coming across a health tech company that specifically provides care to pregnant women in all phases of their pregnancy. Part of what they offer, are exercises that strengthen the pelvic floor and help them navigate the physical changes that occur with pregnancy. I studied Human Kinetics, so I’m sure you can understand the fascination I was experiencing.

Every Mother is a sustainable fitness company founded in 2018, with the main aim of educating women about their core and pelvic floor. Your pelvic floor is a group of muscles that surround and provide support to your vagina, rectum, bladder, uterus and bowel. During pregnancy, the pelvic floor muscles loosen due to hormonal changes in your body and stretches to make room for the growing baby. According to Kelly Ob/Gyn Morales, pelvic floor health helps protect the surrounding organs from moving out of place, reduces the risk of complications during and after pregnancy, and helps with faster recovery after childbirth.

Every Mother provides an affordable plan for every woman on their pregnancy/motherhood journey. This plan includes clinically-proven and expert endorsed under 30 minutes exercises. The exercise regimen is assigned, after taken a quiz that recommends the right path for your specific need. Every Mother aims to provide therapeutic exercises that heal and strengthen Diastatis Recti and other conditions affecting pregnant women. They also take into consideration the busy lifestyles of mothers and allow the flexibility of participating in the exercises within intervals. According to Jama Network pelvic floor disorders affects a substantial proportion of women and increase with age.

IMG-5957.PNG

I admire their vision to give women the ability to experience a wholesome and powerful pregnancy. They inspired me to truly think and find ways to provide unique care to women and improve our health experiences; regardless of geographical location, access to quality health care and critical information.

Based on my minuscule experience I can sense every member of the team is driven by the same goal. They all seem to understand the value of user experience. From their choice of words to their color tones and just the basic flow of their website and blog, giving you a welcoming serene feel.

The ability to create an identity and pay attention to detail is one I aspire to possess and incorporate into my Software/Web Development journey.